Emily's Fresh Kitchen Cookies paleo grain free gluten free

Gluten Free

A gluten-free diet excludes the protein gluten. Gluten is found in wheat (including all varieties and derivatives), rye, barley, triticale, malt, brewer’s yeast, and wheat starch. Derivatives of wheat include: wheat berries, durum, emmer, semolina, spelt, farina, farro, graham, kamut, and einkorn. For people with celiac disease, the ingestion of gluten can cause digestive problems, brain fog, abdominal pain, headaches, and fatigue among other symptoms. It can also lead to serious damage of their small intestine. Eliminating gluten has proven to also help people with other digestive and autoimmune disorders. Recipes that are gluten-free will be labeled with this icon below.